Capresso Infinity Burr Grinder

7.4

Price

9.0/10

Grinder Quality

6.0/10

Grind Consistency

6.0/10

Grind Range

6.0/10

Ease of Use

9.0/10

Cleaning Ease

5.0/10

Appearance

9.0/10

Durability

10.0/10

Grind Speed

8.0/10

Grind Noise

6.0/10

Pros

  • Affordable
  • Durable
  • Good consistency for drip
  • Easy to use

Cons

  • Messy/difficult to clean
  • Significant ground coffee retention
  • Not suitable for naked espresso
  • Inconsistent grind particles at coarser settings

The first burr coffee grinder I ever owned was the Capresso Infinity. I made the purchase sometime back in 2011 when all I really knew about coffee was Peet's and Starbucks and their delicious espresso-based drinks.

The espresso drink that I coveted was the Mocha, and I really wanted to learn how to make it at home on our refurbished Cuisinart EM-200 Espresso Machine. I really didn't know much of anything about espresso, but I quickly researched the tools I would need in order to make a Mocha.

Tamper? Check!

Frothing pitcher? Check!

Grinder? Wait, my Krups blade grinder won't do the trick? Damnit!

And so off I went to Peet's Coffee, where I bought the Capresso Infinity Burr Grinder. To be honest, I don't even remember if I did any research before purchasing the damn thing. All I knew was that I needed a burr grinder…and hey, Peet's was selling it so it must be good, right?

And that's the somewhat long story of how I ended up with the grinder I'm reviewing here today.

The Review

Since you're here reading this review, I imagine that you probably got wind of the Capresso Infinity when doing some quick searches for a burr grinder on Amazon or Google.

The Capresso Infinity probably popped up because it's a super popular option when it comes to entry-level-home-coffee-grinding.

Why?

Mostly because it's pretty affordable. But also because it is pretty versatile for most coffee newbs and even intermediates.

Features and Benefits

  • 16 grind settings
  • 100 watt conical burr grinder
  • 8.5 oz bean hopper
  • Built-in timer to grind between 5 and 60 seconds
  • 1 year warranty

Ratings

Let's break down the ratings I gave the Capresso Infinity across the 10 ratings categories I use when rating grinders. To learn more about these ratings categories and how I rate coffee grinders in general, click here.

Price

Price is one of the main reasons people are drawn to this grinder. It's not only affordable but also a great value for most coffee drinkers, especially those who have never owned a burr coffee grinder before.

There are a handful of cheaper burr grinders out there, but the Capresso Infinity is really one of the first grinders in its price range to really break through into that next level of quality and range.

Score: 4.5

Grinder Quality

Capresso offers to versions of the Infinity. One is made entirely of plastic, with the exception of the conical steel burrs. The other has a stainless steel body, which makes it better quality overall in my opinion.

I can only really speak on the quality of the plastic version, which I'd describe as neither great nor poor quality. If we're strictly speaking about functionality, then there are definitely some shortcomings.

For one, the grinder retains a lot of ground coffee (as demonstrated in the video review) unless you give it a good whack.

I've also experienced my fair share of static build-up in the grounds container, as well as grounds sneaking behind the grounds container, which creates an annoying mess.

So no, the Capresso Infinity is not a stellar grinder from a quality perspective, but I will say that you mostly get what you pay for (and perhaps, a little more).

Score: 3

Grind Consistency

It gets the job done for medium and medium-fine settings, however, the consistency isn't as good at the coarsest or finest settings.

As far as entry-level coffee grinders go, the grind consistency isn't on the same level as the Hario Skerton, Hario Mini Mill, or Baratza Encore either. Still, not terrible consistency once you're beyond the coarsest settings.

Definitely a huge step up from a blade grinder.

Score: 3

Grind Range

Capresso Infinity Finest Grind Setting Capresso Infinity Coarsest Grind Setting

For an entry-level grinder, the grind range of the Capresso Infinity is decent.

It's marketed to be able to handle French Press (coarse) to espresso (fine) grind, but most grinders tote that they are capable of this range when it often isn't true, so let me try and be a little bit more specific.

The coarsest grind setting could pass for French Press, but it is not a uniform grind nor is the grind anywhere near as coarse as some would recommend for a French Press. This is usually a recipe for over-extraction (read: bitter) coffee with fine coffee particles interspersed with coffee particles that are simply not fine enough.

On the espresso spectrum you need to understand that the Capresso Infinity only grinds finely enough for a pressurized filter basket, not a naked/bottomless one. Here's a great breakdown of the differences between these two types of espresso filter baskets:

Naked vs. Pressurized Espresso Filter Basket

So to me, the Capresso Infinity gives you range from drip brew methods to espresso machines with pressurized filter baskets. French Press and non-pressurized filter baskets will not really get along as well with the grind range of this grinder.

Score: 3

Ease of Use

It's very easy to use the Capresso Infinity. Simply turn the dial from 1 to 10 and the grinder will begin to grind those beans for ya. Each number on the dial adds up to approximately 6 seconds.

If you're looking for an accurate way to dose your coffee however, a timer is not something you should rely on. In theory, 6 seconds should give you about 6 ounces of coffee, but this depends on how finely you are grinding, what type of beans your are grinding, and how much coffee is actually getting into the grounds container.

The hopper also does not have a lock to keep beans in, so you can't easily switch out beans. So if you are looking for a quick way to dose without measuring spoons or gram scales or you like to change between different types of coffee frequently, this grinder has some limitations in terms of usability.

Score: 4.5

Cleaning Ease

One of my biggest issues with the Capresso Infinity has always been the mess it creates, especially with darker roasts.

Lots of ground coffee retention. Lots of static build-up. An awkwardly shaped grounds container that frequently lets ground coffee slip behind it. And plenty of nooks and crannies from the hopper to the chute make it a very tricky grinder to clean.

This is where the Capresso Infinity really loses points in my opinion.

Score: 2.5

Appearance

There isn't really anything unattractive about this grinder. The design is simple, the colors are neutral, and it has a very small footprint

You can also upgrade the look and materials by getting the stainless steel version, but the black one is definitely no eye sore.

Score: 4.5

Durability

If there's one thing I can really give the Capresso Infinity credit for, it's durability. My parents have been using it almost every day since 2011, and it hasn't skipped a beat.

Now, this doesn't mean the grinder is unbreakable. Of course, most of the issues are a result of user error. Learn from my mistakes…

Do not put the upper burr upside-down in the grinder. I accidentally did this once and had a lot of trouble getting it out. I eventually found the solution in one of the Amazon reviews that involved a butter knife being stuck into a slit near the top of the base. In any case, you don't want to find yourself in this unfortunate position.

Also, if you're using dark roast coffee, you'll want to frequently clean the grinder so that oils don't cause your coffee to clump up and clog the grinder's chute. But this is grinder 101, really.

In the end, the Capresso Infinity is incredibly durable, especially for its price.

The one year limited warranty shouldn't be necessary in most cases.

Score: 5

Grind Speed

Intentionally slow, but not enough to make anyone want to rip their hair out and decide to switch to a faster grinder.

Although there are certainly faster grinders out there, the Capresso Infinity is fast enough for your neophyte home barista.

Score: 4

Grinder Noise

I think it's kind of loud. As in, loud enough to pause a conversation. Loud enough to wake up an entire small household. Loud enough to drown out a dog's bark.

Of course, noise is relative and subjective. So if you really want to judge noise, watch the video review above.

Score: 3

Is the Capresso Infinity for you?

I have a love-hate relationship with the Capresso Infinity. In fact, there was a time when I criticized it non-stop for some of the issues I outlined in this review.

But when I really started to consider the negatives next to the positives, I eased up on my criticism.

So here's who I think the Capresso Infinity is for:

  • New coffee drinkers who don't want to spend more than $100 on a grinder…yet
  • Those who primarily brew with drip methods (automatic or pour over)
  • Those who don't have more than one type of coffee on hand at a time
  • Those who want something that is very easy to use

And here's who I think should look at other grinder options over the Capresso Infinity:

  • Those who brew with the French Press
  • Those who can stretch their grinder budget to around $150 or $200
  • Those who want to make authentic espresso at home with naked filter baskets
  • Those who want an easy and accurate dosing system

Recommended alternatives

If you can stretch your budget a little bit, I generally recommend that my readers look into the Baratza Encore or Lido 2.

Neither grinder will be quite suitable for espresso, but they will cover you nicely from French Press through drip.

For espresso, I'm currently using the Breville Smart Grinder Pro. You can read my full review here.

If you're convinced the Capresso Infinity is the right grinder for you, you can add it to your Amazon shopping cart by clicking the button below:

Share your comments, questions, and reviews!

Have questions or comments about the Capresso Infinity? If so, I'd love to hear from you. Similarly, if you have your own experiences with this grinder I'd be curious to hear your review.

Please share by leaving a comment below.