Proctor-Silex 43603

7.2

Price

10.0/10

Coffee Quality

5.0/10

Coffee Maker Quality

5.0/10

Ease of Use

10.0/10

Cleaning Ease

10.0/10

Durability

6.0/10

Appearance

7.0/10

Brew Speed

6.0/10

Versatility

6.0/10

Pros

  • SCAA Certified
  • No-spill thermal carafe (stainless steel interior)
  • BPA Free
  • Large showerhead for even extraction
  • Bloom/pre-saturation optional

Cons

  • Turning the bloom function on/off is not intuitive
  • Water comes out of some showerhead holes inconsistently
  • Pretty short power cord (2 feet)
  • Cheap materials

Sometimes, the simplest things are the best things; especially when they come in red!

The Proctor-Silex 43603 Red Coffee Maker is an affordable auto drip coffee maker that offers a great alternative to those who are averse to the Mr. Coffees of the world. And since it comes in red, it will definitely stand out in your kitchen to remind you to always drink your coffee!

The Review

Please note: Although I am reviewing this coffee maker, I don't have any personal experience with it. Instead, I use reviews from around the web to highlight the pros and cons of this coffee maker. While I do plan to eventually review this coffee maker personally, this disclaimer will remain here in the meantime. If you want to know more about how I review coffee makers, please go here.

Most people who consider this coffee maker are the ones who are drawn to its color. However, color can only get you so far when it comes to great coffee. In fact, color won't have any affect on the coffee maker's performance at all. So let's take a look at some of the Proctor-Silex's pros, cons, and main features before we judge the book by its cover.

You get what you pay for

The age old saying really applies here. The Proctor-Silex hovers around $20 which is almost as cheap as it gets for a coffee maker. You shouldn't expect knock-your-socks-off coffee, nor should you expect tons of bells and whistles.

What you can expect are some basic features, comparable to a Mr. Coffee coffee maker, but with perhaps a bit more reliability/durability in the long run. You can also expect the color red, because that's the only color this coffee maker comes in at the moment (which is why you're here, right?).

“Red” is subjective

There are obviously many shades of red out there. Reviewers say that this red is on the lighter side…almost pink. So if you are looking for a really dark red, this probably isn't the coffee maker for you. However, Amazon has a great return policy so if you don't mind the slight hassle of returning the Proctor-Silex after receiving it, you don't have anything to lose.

Is the Proctor-Silex 43603 for you?

If you must have a red coffee maker, this is a pretty safe choice given its low cost.

You probably won't get coffee that tastes amazing, but if you don't have very high standards for taste there is very little risk here.

I'll be reviewing this coffee maker personally in the near future. But for now, if you want to learn more from other reviewers, check out the reviews on Amazon (affiliate link).

Thanks for reading; please share your questions and comments below!