DeLonghi Kmix

7.6

Price

9.0/10

Espresso Quality

9.0/10

Espresso Maker Quality

8.0/10

Ease of Use

10.0/10

Cleaning Ease

8.0/10

Durability

6.0/10

Appearance

10.0/10

Brew Speed

0.0/10

Versatility

8.0/10

Pros

  • Great aesthetics - available in a ton of different colors
  • Compact; doesn't take up much counter space
  • Heats up quickly
  • Works with ESE pods or ground coffee
  • Relatively inexpensive
  • 1 year warranty

Cons

  • Some durability issues reported
  • Customer service isn't great
  • Switching from espresso to steam wand takes a little extra time

The DeLonghi Kmix is a fun-looking home espresso maker that comes in a variety of different colors.

At the time of writing (November 2012), the Kmix is just under a year old and has already garnered a lot of positive attention. Still, like every coffee maker, it has its plusses and minuses. So let's get to it.

The Review

When shopping for an espresso maker, there are a lot more variables to consider than with your typical coffee maker. I will do my best to cover all of the extra stuff, but I highly recommend you check out our espresso maker buying guide before continuing with this review.

Please note: Although I am reviewing this espresso maker, I have no experience using it. Instead, I've summarized all of the most helpful reviews on this espresso machine from around the web. I do my best to make the review completely unbiased, making sure to cover both the positives and negatives of every coffee maker I review. Visit the about page to learn more…or feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

Affordably Good Looks

It's a small espresso maker by many standards, but this is one of the main appeals to it. Nobody likes giant appliances in their kitchen, especially when we are talking about a bon vivant-type accessory like the home espresso maker.

You also have 9 colors to choose from. This is awesome. It reminds me of the stuff Apple has done with iMacs and iPods. You're bound to find something that will satisfy your aesthetic tastes.

A Year Old, But Already Some Duds

It can be disconcerting to see that some owners have already experienced issues with their Kmix espresso makers in less than a year. Especially disconcerting are the negative experiences these customers have seemed to have by consensus with DeLonghi's customer service. There is a 1 year warranty with this machine, but you will have to pay shipping to your Kmix back to DeLonghi for a replacement. If buying from Amazon, you are much better off dealing with them than you are with DeLonghi…so keep this in mind if you ever run into trouble with your own Kmix.

The Ratings

Let's break down the ratings for the DeLonghi Kmix Espresso Maker one category at a time.

The Price

Unlike coffee makers, espresso makers are somewhat of a luxury item. They are also far more complex. So consumers come to expect a higher price tag when shopping for expresso machines. Having said that, most reviewers were thrilled with the just-under-$300 price tag. I tend to agree that this is a great price for great quality.

Score: 4.5 stars

The Espresso Quality

Almost everybody who reviewed this machine was impressed with the quality of the espresso. The crema is thick and the overall taste is great. Sure, it's not going to compare to the espresso of a commercial machine, but it gets the job done.

Score: 4.5 stars

The Espresso Maker Quality

Despite the durability issues, this is a pretty good quality machine. The 15 bars of pressure is perfect for making espresso, and the steam wand will allow you to easily make cappuccinos and lattes.

Score: 4 stars

Ease of Use

The instructions are clear and the 3-button design only adds to the simplicity. You do have to run water through the machine to warm it up, otherwise there aren't really any extraneous steps.

Score: 5 stars

Cleaning Ease

The steam wand is what makes this espresso maker a bit more difficult to clean than the competition. Because it has a “sleeve,” removing and cleaning its innards can be a bit cumbersome. Otherwise, this is a low-maintenance espresso maker from a cleaning standpoint.

Score: 4 stars

Durability

This is the one category where the Kmix falls a bit short. While there don't seem to be an overwhelming number of broken units out there, the fact that there are more than a couple raises a white flag. While the odds are still in your favor for ending up with a functional machine, I still don't think the Kmix deserves very high marks here.

Score: 3 stars

Appearance

9 colors. Clean and compact design. Yeah…I think 5 stars is merited.

Score: 5 stars

Brew Speed

In the world of espresso, quick isn't better. So no rating for this category.

Versatility

The Kmix does everything you'd want from a semi-automatic espresso machine. It comes with a steam wand and heating tray like most semi-automatics. An added bonus is its ability to pull shots from ESE pods, although personally I'm not a fan of this type of “espresso making.”

Score: 4 stars

Final Thoughts

This is the ideal espresso maker for the neophyte barista who is looking for something that looks great, is easy to use, and doesn't cost a boatload of money.

If you are looking to do fancier things with your espresso and/or are extremely risk averse when it comes to malfunctioning appliances, you are better off looking in another direction.

Share Your Comments, Reviews, or Questions

While we collate reviews from all across the web when writing our own coffee maker reviews, our opinion in the end is only one opinion. For this reason, we encourage you to share your own review as well as any comments, questions, or disagreements you may have.