Mr. Coffee Wi-Fi Enabled WeMo 10-Cup Coffee Maker

7.7

Price

6.0/10

Coffee Quality

9.0/10

Coffee Maker Quality

7.0/10

Ease of Use

8.0/10

Cleaning Ease

9.0/10

Durability

6.0/10

Appearance

8.0/10

Brew Speed

9.0/10

Versatility

7.0/10

Pros

  • Fast brew (less than 6 minutes)
  • Program a different brew schedule for every day of the week
  • Thermal carafe with dribble-free pour
  • 157˚F pot-to-cup coffee temperature
  • Built-in charcoal water filter
  • Removable, easy-to-fill water reservoir
  • Manual, one-button brew option
  • Brew pause
  • BPA Free
  • Control coffee maker through Wi-Fi enabled app

Cons

  • Mystery leaks at bottom of unit
  • Cumbersome grounds basket
  • Limited-features in WeMo app

While many people have started to go back to the simpler ways of brewing coffee via manual coffee makers like the Hario V60 and Bialetti Moka Pot, there are other coffee drinkers who crave the latest and greatest technology from their coffee maker.

The Mr. Coffee WeMo WiFi-Enabled Coffee Maker is an example of a coffee maker that meets the needs of the latter coffee drinker.

With the connected WeMo smartphone app, you can brew up a cup of coffee on-command or on-schedule with just a few touches.

While you may be rolling your eyes and thinking this solves a problem that doesn't exist, keep reading so I can address why this may not necessarily be the case.

The Review

Full disclosure: Mr. Coffee sent me this coffee maker in exchange for a review. While I don't want or think this will impact my review in any way, please be advised that I did not purchase this coffee maker.

Mr. Coffee is easily one of the biggest brands in the home coffee maker market.

Their somewhat infamous 12-cup auto drip is well-known for its low cost and ease of use. It can be found in a ton of kitchens all over the U.S. and beyond.

While simple coffee makers like this one are still coveted by regular coffee drinkers, there are other coffee drinkers who may want a little bit more in terms of features.

That's where coffee makers like the Mr. Coffee Optimal Brew come into play.

While it isn't necessarily loaded with features, it still has plenty to offer, especially when it comes to programming your brew ahead of time.

Specifications and Features

  • Brews up to 10 (5 oz) cups of coffee
  • Thermal, stainless steel carafe
  • Removable water reservoir
  • Charcoal water filter
  • Brew pause (i.e. you can temporarily remove carafe before brew cycle has finished)
  • Cleaning indicator
  • Brew setup reminders
  • Smartphone notifications when coffee is ready
  • 7-day scheduling for custom brew times every day of the week

Revolutionary brew timer

Hyperbole aside, this is the first coffee maker I've used that features a brew timer that can be set to a different time for every day of the week.

Gone are the days of having to press the same button 60 times to program your coffee maker to run at a certain time of day. Not only is it easier to schedule brew times with the WeMo app, but you can schedule every day of the week to its own custom time.

In other words, if you're the type of person who wakes up at different times every day, this coffee maker was pretty much made for you.

For example: I wake up at 6am on weekdays and 8am on weekends. When Friday night rolls around, I don't have to remember to change the brew timer on the coffee maker itself, because my schedule is already set through the WeMo app.

Pretty cool if your schedule changes a lot and you frequently use a brew timer.

Having said that, I personally almost never use brew timers. In fact, part of my morning ritual is preparing my coffee. This includes dosing, grinding, and brewing. Following these steps ensures that the coffee I make is as fresh as possible.

Unfortunately, grinding your coffee the night before can really have a significantly negative impact on the way your coffee ultimately tastes the next morning. So if you care about having the freshest coffee possible, you shouldn't be using a brew timer.

Fast brew…like, really fast

One of the things that really caught my attention when using the Mr. Coffee WeMo was how freakin' fast this coffee maker brews.

8 cups takes roughly 6 minutes. 5 cups takes under 5 minutes.

Considering the coffee's pot-to-cup temperature of 159˚F, this is very fast.

Mystery leak

It's not all fun and games with the Mr. Coffee WeMo though.

I kept experiencing leaking issues under the unit, sometimes days after using the machine. No bueno.

As to the source of the leak, I really have no idea. It could have been tied in with the reservoir itself, but it was hard to tell given the location of the small puddle at the base of the coffee maker itself.

Solid temperature. Solid taste.

To be honest, I wasn't expecting much in either the taste or temperature department (no offense, Mr. Coffee).

I was wrong though.

I had no issues with the way the coffee I brewed tasted. Nor did I have any issues with the coffee's temperature, which clocked in at 157˚F (very drinkable temperature if you ask me).

The Ratings

These are my ratings for the Mr. Coffee WeMo coffee maker across the 9 different rating categories I use. To learn more about how I rate coffee makers, click here.

Price

The price of the Mr. Coffee WeMo is pretty much in the middle of the road when compared to other auto drip coffee makers.

You can check Amazon for the most up-to-date price.

Score: 3

The Coffee Quality

As noted earlier, I was pleasantly surprised with the way the coffee tasted. It was hot and consistently delicious.

The grounds appeared to be evenly saturated, the coffee was hot, and the brew time was in the acceptable SCAA range (note: this is not an SCAA Certified Coffee Maker).

Score: 4.5

The Coffee Maker Quality

I have to give Mr. Coffee credit for including a solid stainless steel thermal carafe that pours beautifully. However, the rest of the coffee maker is comprised of mostly plastic, and I feel like this takes away from its overall quality.

Additionally, the leak I continued to experience made me question its construction.

Score: 3.5

Ease of Use

Getting your coffee brewing is extremely easy without the app. Add your water, add your coffee, press one button and you're off to the races.

This isn't to say that brewing with the app is difficult, but it certainly wasn't intuitive.

The first time I set up my brew schedule for the next day I accidentally started brewing coffee by tapping this icon:

Mr. Coffee WeMo App Brew Button

The worst part was that I couldn't figure out how to cancel the brew cycle through the app (it turns out, the only way to do this is by pressing the brew button on the coffee maker itself). Since this coffee maker is so damn fast, I couldn't cancel in time before the water made contact with the ground coffee.

Batch ruined.

Since using the app is the main reason you would buy this coffee maker, I have to knock the score down one point because of the app's shortcomings when it comes to usability.

Score: 4 stars

Cleaning Ease

The grounds basket is kind of deep and a little bit awkward with its water filter, but there isn't really too much about this coffee maker that makes it difficult to clean. There are a few nooks and crannies, but nothing that will really prevent you from giving it a thorough cleaning.

The app also has a feature thatnotifies you after 90 brew cycles that it's time for cleaning. The cycle gets reset when the unit is unplugged though, which would basically make this a useless feature if it weren't for the fact that the clean function indicator is also activated when the coffee maker has experienced two consecutive brew cycles lasting longer than 9.5 minutes.

As far as cleaning the coffee maker goes, there are instructions in the manual for running a cleaning cycle.

Oh, and the carafe is not dishwasher safe.

Score: 4.5

Durability

Not sure how long I expect a coffee maker like this to work. My biggest issue is that if the app malfunctions (totally possible) as hardware continues to be upgraded, this coffee maker is basically a glorified one-button auto drip that can no longer be programmed.

The mystery leak at the bottom also really makes me question if the Mr. Coffee WeMo is built-to-last.

Score: 3 stars

Appearance

It's quite large, but I think it looks pretty nice. It also functions as a mirror so you can see your best-looking-self early in the morning!

Score: 4

Brew Speed

The Mr. Coffee Optimal Brew WeMo delivers a knock-out punch when it comes to brew speed.

8 cups takes roughly 6 minutes. 5 cups takes under 5 minutes.

Score: 4.5 stars

Versatility

The Mr. Coffee WeMo has some very cool features, that's for sure. The question however, is how many of these features really matter?

Do I really need my phone to notify me when the coffee is ready? Eh, not really. But then again, I live in a shoebox.

What about the brew schedule? Well, if I were the type who woke up early every day of the week and couldn't be bothered to prepare my coffee, yes.

This is definitely a feature-rich coffee maker, but it still can only brew coffee one way. As opposed to its close wi-fi enabled competitor the Behmor Connected, which can adjust water temperature, pre-infusion time, and more.

Score: 3.5

Is the Mr. Coffee Wi-Fi Enabled WeMo Optimal Brew Coffee Maker for you?

So is this the coffee maker for you? Let's break it down:

If you're regularly using  a brew timer to have your coffee ready for you as soon as you wake up, the Mr. Coffee WeMo is a dream.

Why?

Well, you only have to fidget with the timer on your phone, not the actual coffee maker.

The reason this matters is because unplugging just abut any other coffee maker with a brew timer will reset the clock. This means that when you want to schedule a brew not only do you have to reset your clock, but you also have to reset your brew timer.

With most auto drip coffee makers that are not the Mr. Coffee WeMo, 100 button presses to schedule your brew is not uncommon.

Whereas when you set the brew timer on your WeMo, it's all done through the app. This makes scheduling your coffee maker super-easy and technically, the whole process only has to be done once.

To add the Mr. Coffee WeMo to your shopping cart on Amazon.com, click the button below:

If a brew timer doesn't matter to you…run! This coffee maker has nothing to offer you if you don't want to schedule your coffee the night before bed.

Share your thoughts!

Own the Mr. Coffee Optimal Brew WeMo already? Have questions? If so I would love to hear from you, please leave a comment below.