Strangers Coffee Company - Ethiopia Rocko Mountain

£8.50
8.7

Acidity

8.0/10

Aftertaste

8.0/10

Aroma

7.0/10

Balance

9.0/10

Body

9.0/10

Complexity

8.0/10

Forgiveness

10.0/10

Sweetness

10.0/10

Versatility

9.0/10

Pros

  • Very sweet
  • Great shelf life
  • Excellent as espresso and drip

Disclosure: I received a 12oz bag of the coffee for free in exchange for a review. I do my best to not let free coffee submissions influence my ratings, but of course, it is impossible to eliminate all potential biases.

You can learn more about how I review coffee here.

Once you become a coffee snob, it can be easy to fall into certain dogmatic traps.

A prime example has to do with coffee freshness.

Most coffee snobs will not waste their time with coffee that has been roasted more than two weeks prior to consumption.

And while fresher coffee is certainly better coffee, this guideline can be damaging to the end consumer if they're afraid to drink coffee that's past this deadline. And I'm guilty of this myself.

So how is any of this relevant to today's coffee review?

Well, Strangers Coffee Company sent me a couple bags of coffee not too long ago, and I forgot to tell them that I generally require coffee to arrive within two weeks of the roast date.

In Stranger Coffee Company's case, the coffee came 2 months after the roast date.

Uh oh…right?

Given my snobbery, Strangers Coffee Company's Rocko Mountain was already down for the count going into my tastings. However, after brewing the first cup of coffee, all of my preconceived notions went out the window.

This is an excellent coffee.

General Notes & Observations

Roast: Medium/Light
Producers: Haricha Woreda
Country of Origin: Ethiopia
Region: Yirgacheffe, Gedeo Zone
Variety: Indigenous Heirloom
Processing method: Natural, dried on raised beds
Growing altitude: 1950-2150 masl
Roaster aroma notes: None
Coffee Concierge aroma notes: Milk chocolate, blueberry
Roaster tasting notes: An intense and sweet coffee with flavors of juicy summer berries, ripe tropical fruits and a pineapple acidity.
Coffee Concierge tasting notes: Strawberry, blueberry, milk chocolate

Brew Methods & Equipment Used

The Ageless Wonder

The Rocko Mountain maintained deliciously sweet berry flavor as I worked my way through the bag, brewing across all kinds of brew methods.

In my opinion, if a coffee can taste delicious well after the roast date, it's of exceptional quality.

Case Coffee Roasters' Kenya Gachatha AA from 2015 was a perfect example of this. I didn't dive into the bag until 1 month post-roast, yet it's still one of the highest rated coffees I've reviewed to-date.

The only thing I can say is that I wish I got to try the Rocko Mountain sooner, since I imagine it was even more incredible in its prime.

Summary

I really had to race through this bag at a busy time of year, so unfortunately I don't have a ton of notes from specific brew methods.

What I will say is that the coffee is absolutely worth ordering, even if it might take a little bit longer to reach you.

Not only is it one of the sweetest coffees I tried in 2017, but it is also incredibly forgiving and versatile across brew methods.

If you decide to give this coffee a try, Stranger Coffee is donating a portion of the Rocko Mountains' sales to the ‘Girls Gotta Run Foundation’. This is a non-profit organization that empowers girls in Ethiopia through running and education.

Cool stuff!

You can buy the Rocko Mountain from Strangers Coffee (while it's still available) by clicking the button below:

Buy Now